Freewheeling through SE Asia

Less than 20 days to go before flying out to Bangkok for an epic trip with Exodus through three countries.  I’ve chosen to take my own bike having borrowed a cycle box and tested this out.  Exodus seem happy to do this (and importantly refund some money).  I will only know if this is a good idea once I’m back.  There’s a risk here too, insurance only covers $750 of a bike (less excess).  I guess I’m not that risk averse.

It will be interesting coming back too.  Namely the project I’ve been working on has come to a natural end and the company is wanting to abandon .Net altogether.  It leaves me and my other team mate just hanging.  Retrain in Java + spring or ?  Good thing Wellington’s a vibrant scene for .Net still.

I wrote my first smart client last week (believe it or not).  It’s not really that smart though as there’s no service to write to (so deploy all the things!).  Currently I’m looking at introducing a service (WCF seems the natural choice) but it really needs ways to implement feedback from the service to the client.  Currently the server is throwing out a lot of events, a callback model seems feasible in WCF but alas pure events do not.  Remoting may work but this is 2018 and this technology seems so far out of date.  Time to start researching…

Leave a comment

Filed under Cycling

Leave a comment